It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…Except for Recent Christmas Movies

Posted: December 3, 2008 by jerkmag in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

four-christmases

After a pleasant Thanksgiving feast, a couple of friends from home and I decided to hit up our local theater. I wanted to see Gus Van Sant’s Milk but my trusty cinema neglected this film in favor of showing everyone’s favorite Harry Potter-wannabe, Twilight, on four screens. So I was begrudgingly taken to see Four Christmases, another poor exercise in Hollywood’s recent slew of terrible Christmas-y films.

I say Christmas-y because this film had almost nothing to do with Christmas! Apparently, to have yourself a merry little Christmas movie, all you need are occasional Christmas songs and one or two shots of a tree. Ho ho horrible. Four Christmases is basically a less-crass version of Wedding Crashers (which is not a good thing) with a few scenes of gift exchanges. There isn’t even any snow!

You may think I am overreacting but I can’t ignore the vast differences in quality between modern Christmas silver-screen clunkers and the classics of Christmases long, long ago.

I don’t understand how audiences can accept sub-par entries such as Four Christmases, Christmas With the Kranks, Bad Santa, and The Santa Clause 2…and 3 as legitimate entertainment. I will always pop in A Christmas Story, It’s a Wonderful Life, and White Christmas before watching these trite attempts at capturing the Christmas spirit.

its-a-wonderful-life

For some reason, this onslaught of Christmas movies where everyone hates Christmas or everyone is miserable has connected with moviegoers. I didn’t quite understand their appeal until this past weekend. While I was more focused on the odd-smelling woman next to me, the rest of the theater was guffawing along with the awkward and crude family interactions. Everyone was enjoying this anti-family message of the movie. The married couples surrounding me were laughing their asses off and I realized why: they must hate each other as much as the characters in the movie do and can relate to their miserable experiences.

I know that sounds harsh but what does it mean for our culture that the upcoming holiday is now more hell than holy? I guess it takes bad cinema to remind us every now and then. Thanks Four Christmases.

~Mike Estabrook

Comments
  1. hugjuffs says:

    this movie looks like shit, so I’m glad somebody bashed it. but lets not forget about ELF. That was a pretty good christmas movie.

  2. Katie says:

    Hahaha cheers!

  3. tvlover222 says:

    this is so true, i seriously hated this film, the relationship between vince and reese is completly not believeable.

Leave a comment