The wait for the next big adventure is a whole ‘nother story

Posted: April 11, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags:

As if it wasn’t hard enough just keeping track of all the books I read, I also have to find ways to keep myself amused while waiting for my favorite authors to come out with the next books in their series.  Just looking at Jim Butcher’s Ghost Story, which won’t be coming out until July, and Charlaine Harris’ Dead Reckoning, which will be available in May, makes me want to rip all my hair out in order to distract myself from the crippling anticipation of new books.

Then there’s Tamora Pierce, who has written some of my favorite series, and more importantly, my favorite characters.  There’s Alanna and then her daughter, Ali, in two of my favorites, Trickster’s Choice and Trickster’s Queen.  Her new series follows Beka Cooper (a girl after my own heart, or name, or whatever), and this series is a prequel to Alanna’s books.  Terrier have already come out, so the wait for Mastiff has been unbearable.  It’s not coming out until October!

New books are like my crack.  They’re the reason I spend my entire paycheck within minutes of getting it.  They’re my guilty pleasure, and my savior.  If this all sounds a bit eccentric to you, just remember that we all have our little quirks, and that I can totally stop any time I want.  I just don’t want to.

-Rebecca Leviton

Leave a comment