Artist To Watch: Mikky Ekko

Posted: February 8, 2013 by jerkmagblog in BLARE -- music
Tags: , ,

mikkyI’m in a bit of a pickle. You see, I actually purchased a single from Rihanna’s latest album, Unapologetic. In all honesty, it’s rare that I ever purchase any music, let alone Rihanna’s, as the convenience of Spotify and the internet have made it easy for me to listen to anything as much as I want. Considering the fact that I rarely listen to Rihanna and think “Hmm, that song’s pretty fan-freaking-tastic,” I knew something was wrong when I listened to “Stay” and nearly cried.

For those who don’t know, “Stay” is the official second single from Unapologetic and it received its debut on SNL back in November. Given Rihanna’s typical style and the overall direction of the album, the song received relatively mixed reviews from fans and critics. In my opinion, the only issue with the song is the fact that it’s on this particular album, but that could just be the misguided opinion of a girl who loves ballads almost as much as she loves puppies. Nevertheless, it’s hard to ignore the beauty of “Stay” and Mikky Ekko as both an artist and writer.

Of his released music, standout tracks are “Pull Me Down”, “Feels Like the End”, and “Sedated.” Because he contributes vocals to “Stay,” I’m desperately hoping that Ekko makes an appearance in the video and some frantic Rihanna fans decide to do themselves a favor and Google him until their fingers are nubs. I mean, it’s difficult to find music that’s somehow beautiful and haunting, but Ekko does this extremely well, and I’d be doing everyone a disservice if I kept this fact to myself. Check him out on Spotify, or visit his website at www.mikkyekko.com.

– Tenaysia Fox

Leave a Reply

