Artist to Watch: Jenny O

Posted: January 31, 2013 by jerkmagblog in BLARE -- music
Tags: , , ,

Today, as I searched for a way to avoid any semblance of real work, I turned to my trusted friend Spotify to see what was up. After browsing through my starred selections and feeling utterly drained by the fact that I haven’t listened to anything new in over a month, I opted for a random selection from the “What’s New” category. Lo and behold, I found Jenny O and the exclusive sneak peak to her forthcoming album, Automechanic. The four tracks proved to be just what I needed, as I didn’t go into the listening expecting anything more than to hear something new. The voice that greeted me was shocking, to say the least, as her sound is this hybrid of reminiscent rock with folk and blues influences. The stand out track is “Good Love.” With the juxtaposition of this soft, sweet voice, and a guitar/bass heavy backing band, the song creates a striking balance that’s hard to ignore.

Considering the fact that I’m pretty impressed by the sampler alone, I’m sure that I’m going to be as excited for this album as I am when I find out that attendance is an optional component to a course. I don’t really know what to expect from the entire album, but I know that I’m looking forward to it more than that paper I have due on the 11th.

If for some reason you have yet to join Spotify, do yourself a favor and check out more of her music here: jennyo.bandcamp.com

– Tenaysia Fox

Leave a Reply

