Justin Timberlake Makes Me Cry

Posted: January 26, 2013 by jerkmagblog in BLARE -- music
Tags: , ,

justin_timberlake_jay_z_suit_tie_lAs everyone on the face of the Earth should know by now, Justin Timberlake, that boy-band-er turned solo star, turned actor, turned hilarious SNL host, has released a new track. “Suit and Tie,” the lead single from his widely anticipated third album, features a guest appearance from Jay-Z and seeks to reestablish JT as a sexy singer working on the evolution of his sound. While the song is good, there are a few moments that stop the song from being sell-my-first-child-stellar. Sure, Jay-Z is great and Justin’s voice could make me rob a bank, but the two distinct tempos don’t exactly fit together. I mean, the song could be the musical equivalent of an ill paired couple, but I went into my first listening expecting a gourmet peanut butter and jelly sandwich that’s been toasted and topped with marshmallow fluff, or, you know, some other delicious spread.

Would it be unfair to judge the forthcoming album based on this one song? No, and there are plenty of people who are doing that anyway, so why not join the party? From the looks of it, the album will most likely be good, especially since Justin made sure to record a minute long teaser for the single. I could be cynical and say that all of this hype is unwarranted, but I love Justin Timberlake, so that’s probably not going to happen. Will I buy the album? Probably. Will I like it? Sure. But when it comes to the question of whether or not I’ll love it, the answer is this: Not unless there’s an N*SYNC bonus track that will make me forget the fact that I’m an adult.

– Tenaysia Fox

Leave a Reply

