How to Watch TV Like a College Student

Posted: December 14, 2012 by jerkmag in WATCH -- TV
Tags: , , ,

For many of us, watching something on TV rarely means actually sitting in front of a TV screen. The idea of the “original air date” seems out-dated, as most people end up streaming episodes from various websites. In all honesty, it isn’t even necessary to own a television in college; your laptop does the same thing.

Of all my friends on campus, I don’t think any of them have faithfully tuned in to a television show for the first airing. That’s not to say that college students don’t want to curl up with a pile of assigned readings or that my-test-is-tomorrow-but-I-just-realized-I-know-absolutely-nothing study guide while catching their favorite shows, sometimes it just feels impossible to watch TV and get everything done. TV’s supposed to be convenient.

For those of you who do watch TV on TV, I envy you. If it weren’t for the fact that procrastination is somehow hardwired into my genes, I’d probably be one of you. I’d get work done in my three-hour breaks from class, but instead, I use that time to Hulu and Netflix the shows I was too “busy” to catch. As sad as it is right now, pretty soon I’ll enter the real world and can schedule as much TV bonding time as I please.

-Tenaysia Fox

Leave a Reply

