Dressing for the Rain

Posted: December 14, 2012 by jerkmag in TRIM -- style
Tags: , , ,

At this point, I don’t think anyone would disagree with me that all rain sucks.  Sandy, you bad, bad girl.  Even without Sandy though, it seems like this has been an unreasonably rainy winter.  I personally blame global warming, and if that’s really the case, we’re all screwed.  Either way, I’m here to tell you how to look good on the rainiest of days because you can’t come to Syracuse expecting sunshine and rainbows. And if you do, you don’t even go here.

First off, wear color!  Rainy days honestly make me so depressed as it is, so if not for yourself, do it for me. I’m kidding. But really, wear color. All it takes is something as simple as a colored scarf/bag/shoes, whatever.

I’m not too big a fan of raincoats.  Yea, they get the job done and should be worn to sporting events and stuff like that, but if your just going to class, I suggest a trench coat instead.

So now you have your pop of color, your trench coat, and last but not least, the ultimate rainy day accessory: the umbrella. Besides the fact that they protect your hair (hey ladies), they’ll keep the majority of the rest of your body dry too.  This is always good, because I hate feeling like a soggy wet dog in class. With so many affordable umbrellas out there, don’t be that girl spending $200 on a designer one. That is beyond unnecessary, especially if you’re anything like me and lose them everywhere.

I suggest looking into the bubble umbrellas.  At first, I literally thought they were the ugliest things ever, but in Syracuse, they are necessary.  If not, you have to hold regular umbrellas at this awkward ankle so the wind doesn’t make them turn inside out (trust me its happened multiple times).  At first bubble umbrellas were just all clear; however, now they make them with patterns and colors.

You also can’t forget to wear rain boots. I can’t even tell you how many times I see people wearing moccasins to class when it’s torrential down-pouring. It may not sound like a big deal, but imagine sitting in class with wet socks for two hours. Yeah, that’s what I thought.

They might not be the most attractive things in the world, but it’s better to wear them than have to sit there smelling like wet feet. I’d give you a suggestion of a brand I love, but I know most of you that read this just buy everything else your peer group does.  So, just buy the Hunter’s and call it a day.

Rainy days don’t mean yoga pants and a hoodie. Class it up.

-Lauren Levine

Leave a Reply

