Faegan’s Pub: More Than Just Flip Night

Posted: December 11, 2012 by jerkmag in MUNCH -- local foods
Tags: , ,

Sometimes the idea of spending extra money on food seems as absurd as a Yankees and Red Sox fan being best friends. SU is a pretty damn expensive school, so extra money, for most, is as fictional as the fairy dust that made me fly as a kid.

But this weekend when I realized I needed more than scrambled eggs in my diet and that I needed to write this blog post, I took some visiting friends to Faegan’s. Although most notably known for it’s Flip Night, because what college student doesn’t love the possibility of drinking for free, Faegan’s Pub actually has really good food.

At Faegan’s you can have as good of a dinner as if you went to any place in Armory Square, but without waiting for over an hour and it’s within walking distance. The dishes on the table included chicken pot pie, a bleu cheese filled burger, quesadillas, and french onion soup. Claiming my job depended on it, I obviously tasted everyone’s dish.

The chicken pot pie had potatoes on the top instead of a crust, it was almost better than my grandma’s cooking, which is saying a lot because my grandma is a professional chef (in my family of course, not in life.. but same idea) The burger stuffed with bleu cheese was alright, but I don’t like bleu cheese so don’t trust my opinion in this matter. The guy who ordered in though, he had it finished in about 3.4 minutes so I’m guessing he really liked it. My dish was the quesadillas, I find it hard to not get them whenever I’m at Faegan’s. My professional opinion is that it’s the cumin and the sauteed chicken that really sets it apart from other quesadillas.

BUT my favorite dish of the night was the french onion soup.. O M G! I have never had french onion soup before, because I’ve always found it strange that people want to eat a bowl of onions, like hello! onion breath! Faegan’s you have changed my ming, it is now Wednesday and I am craving french onion, the same way Buffalo Bills fans are craving a winning season, I think the french onion soup may be a little easier to come by though.

As always it’s been a pleasure, sorry Buffalo fans but.. E-A-G-L-E-S EAGLES!

– Shelby Hilt

Leave a Reply

