Foodie Review: Cafe Kubal

Posted: November 17, 2012 by jerkmagblog in MUNCH -- local foods
Tags: ,

For the first time since I have been at Syracuse University, I’ve come to notice that Starbucks seems to be facing some brewing competition, and it’s located just next door. Introducing: Café Kubal.

Obviously, Starbucks will always have its dedicated patrons. There are the robots that walk in like clockwork to order one of three of the same drinks every day, and the gold card members that jump up and down for their free drinks who just can’t fathom going to Dunkin Donuts. I guess it is very exciting though, when you’re spending $30 on coffee drinks just to save on one little measly nonfat sugar free caramel macchiato. Don’t get me wrong, I do love my Starbucks every now and then, BUT Café Kubal has opened my eyes to bigger, better, and cheaper things.

I had a delicious Hot Caramel Latte with skim milk and I plan on having a lot more, now that Mother Nature’s wrath is upon this poor city, because that latte was better than any I have EVER had anywhere else. The cup was the perfect portion of foam and liquid. Café Kubal even goes the extra step of making a design in the foam so it looks pretty when you take it! With the money I saved on my latte, I went the extra step and got myself a peanut butter cookie, which was unlike any other.

All I ask is that you do yourself a favor next time you are craving a latte, a coffee, a frozen drink, or a delicious pastry, and walk a little further down University Avenue. I promise you that you will not be disappointed.

Don’t wait in the way too hectic lines of Starbucks. Who has time for that? Check out the eclectic, cozy, relaxing atmosphere that is Cafe Kubal.

P.S. For those that drive, there is one located near Armory Square and it’s as equally delightful!

– Shelby Hilt

Leave a Reply

