Foodie Review: Papa Gallo

Posted: October 24, 2012 by jerkmagblog in MUNCH -- local foods
Tags: ,

So I’ve slacked a little bit in the Mexican food department, especially considering the fact that Syracuse’s selection of Mexican is a little subpar. Recently, however, I’ve come to discover a Mexican restaurant that isn’t Alto Cinco, and isn’t something you’ve probably heard of – which is why it’s awesome.

Friends, meet Papa Gallo: located on West Genesee Street. It is a brand new authentic Mexican restaurant you won’t want to miss out on.

The atmosphere is right out of Mexico, adorned in crosses, and you can easily celebrate Dia De Los Muertos at any time of the day. Our server was fantastically excited to be helping us, which was strange, but I was still tempted to extend a friendship invitation by the end of the meal.

My friends and I started the meal with homemade tortilla chips, guacamole, and both the mild and hot salsas.

Considering the fact that we were starving, the tortilla chips didn’t even hit the table before they were gone.

I ordered a quesadilla and my friends ordered burritos; one of which was terribly health conscious while the other made you partially consider P90X. My quesadilla, however, was an experience. I could barely finish one slice because it was so dense, though awfully delicious. Our meals were finished in complete silence; a silence which bordered the lines of an old married couple that you always feel sorry for in that one corner of the restaurant. I now understand why they keep it so silent: either the food rocks, or they’ve run out of ideas. In the case of Papa Gallo, the food definitely rocks.

This brings me full circle to my engagement to Papa Gallo. I am only twenty, but I really see a future with this place, and you should too. Polygamy is okay now because TLC said so. Embrace it, and eat more beans.

– Meredith Mendosa

Leave a Reply

