Song of the Week: ‘Round Here

Posted: October 18, 2012 by jerkmagblog in SONG OF THE WEEK
Tags: , , ,

I don’t know how many of you actually went to the One World Concert, but let me tell you something – it was the longest, but most rewarding concert experience of my entire life.

The show lasted about 5 hours, which is just short of festival length, so it was a long one. At about 11:30pm I was getting restless since I’m an old lady and go to bed around that time every night, needless to say, I was ready to crash. But I needed to see my old friends that make up the Counting Crows. Even though we really aren’t old friends I would like to think we are since we’ve been together musically since middle school. So okay to get to the point – I wasn’t leaving until the dreadlock headed man sang to me.

If you were there, you obviously know, it was an amazing performance. Never have I ever seen a performance that got so deep in such a small amount of time. Round here is a solid track that holds a lot of emotion and without Adam Duritz voice it would never survive. He didn’t just sing the song but turned it into a story/conversational piece/something that’s even more amazing than my words could ever describe.

The video above probably doesn’t give his performance in the Dome justice, but it’s the closest thing to it. I’ll be looking into going to another show of theirs and I hope you guys enjoy the song and potentially look into more of the music since they’re pretty great, especially ‘round here.

-Brooke Leone

Comments
  1. […] Song of the Week: ‘Round Here. […]

Leave a Reply

