Killin’ it in Oxblood

Posted: October 15, 2012 by jerkmag in TRIM -- style
Tags: , , , , ,

Oxblood: the name alone seems kind of scary.  However, the color is quickly becoming fall’s go to color, and my current obsession.  I’m not going to lie, part of the reason I was originally drawn to the color was because it reminded me of wine, but who could blame me?  The deep, rich, dark brownish red color gives off a romantic vibe that is bound to look ahh-mazing on all skin tones.  It is popping up all over Hollywood, from the Emmy Awards, to the streets.

If you have the confidence, wear the trend as a lip color. It practically screams vixen!  I suggest Nars Pure Matte Lipstick in Volga – deep aubergine.  If not, try the trend in anything from belts, to dresses, to handbags.  Feeling bold? Pair it with a dark orange, cobalt blue, or my favorite: mustard yellow.  If you’re a little more reserved, try oxblood in either gray, black, brown, or a camel color.  I’m thinking an oxblood wool sweater with a black leather mini skirt paired with black leather booties or suede heels as a perfect look for a date night, where I’d be killin’ it.

-Lauren Levine

Leave a Reply

