Foodie Review: Om Boys

Posted: October 9, 2012 by jerkmagblog in MUNCH -- local foods
Tags: , , ,

Find your center, because this place will really make you feel like you’re eating in a yoga studio. “Om Boys” is a new vegan restaurant right across from Urban Outfitters in Armory Square. For those of you who still haven’t been to Armory Square, I head warning of your inherent solitary lifestyle.

Om Boys boasts local farm grown fruits and vegetables that you can actually purchase in addition to burritos, wraps, salads, paninis, and general café type food.

Besides the positively bleak atmosphere, the food was actually pretty good! I’m not exactly an advocate for eating healthy, but eating a burrito without the post hibernation was fantastic! Yes, I’m looking at you, Chipotle.

I was accompanied but a couple health nuts that were quite literally raving and giggling with excitement as they took pictures of the food to show their mothers (which is where these pictures came from. So thank you, Rebecca Mass.)

The only downside to this vegan mecca was the smoothies, but I could chalk that up to poor choice. Even my peanut gallery agreed that fruit smoothies shouldn’t taste like peanut butter (that pun was slightly intended). I actually asked to return the smoothie for another, and found that the watermelon flavor was refreshing and sweet!

All in all, I’d faithfully revisit Om Boys with a good sense of not rolling over from fullness. However, keep in mind that it takes a lot to make this food. Just my burrito and smoothie cost me a whopping 17 dollars. Some may say worth it. I, may just grab a 5 dollar cheese burger at Five Guys next time around and walk on the treadmill for 10 seconds/hours.

But, if you like vegan, vegetarian or whatever – Om Boys is  a great place to go. Hope this helps, keep reading for more! Peace Out rice cakes

–Meredith Mendosa

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Great review… $17? I might just make my own burritos and smoothies at home, and go out for sushi.

  2. iktor23 says:

    Best vegan smoothies are at Strong Hearts, of course.

Leave a Reply

