Healthier Alternatives On Marshall Street

Posted: September 25, 2012 by jerkmag in CRISP -- health
Tags: , , , , ,

As I sit in Chipotle with a bunch of my sorority sisters, my jaw drops at some of the food people put into their mouths. I will not deny that every time I go to Chipotle I want a burrito the size of my face, but instead I settled for a burrito bowl, which is bigger than my face (but less calories).

Being a young adult we have to start watching what we put in our mouths (yes, that means put the beer down it’s Tuesday) because everything is going to start catching up to us. As a poor college student, organic and high priced food isn’t within our budget, so most of us find ourselves settling for the greasy, fat filled food on Marshall Street.

Because I’m a really, really nice person I’m going to provide you my favorite alternatives for my favorite restaurants on Marshall. Hopefully this will help prevent you from time you are heading down for lunch or dinner, you are not consuming the calories for an elephant.

#1. Chipotle
Like I mentioned before, I have a weak spot for Chipotle, so I had to teach myself to eat there without overdosing on calories. Instead of ordering a burrito you can order a burrito bowl – cutting out the carbs from the tortilla. If you want to further the calorie cut, you can replace the rice on the bottom with shredded lettuce. I know that the rice tastes almost orgasmic but I can assure you that it will not look too good on your hips. So now you have cut out the tortilla and rice, which counts for approximately 300 and 250 calories respectively. WOAH. Now it’s doesn’t seem THAT bad and you won’t feel as guilty after you devour the entire thing in five minutes.

#2. Starbucks
Where would the world be without Starbucks? I don’t know if I would even make it out of bed without it. Although it may help jumpstart your day, that doesn’t mean it can replace a “nutritionally balanced breakfast.” Most, if not all, drinks from here contain excessive amounts of sugar and fat from whip creams, caramel and chocolate toppings. Instead of ordering your usual, try ordering a skinny version, which contains sugar free syrup, no whip and fat-free milk. If you want to be SUPER healthy or you are a lact-tard (lactose intolerant, like me) ask for soymilk and you will be cutting even more calories! Woohoo.

#3. Jimmy Johns
Oh Jimmy and I go way back. No lie I think I ordered from here about 50 times last year… and I wonder why my ass doesn’t fit into last year’s summer clothes… Awkward. Anyways this article is about you, not me. To help cut the calories at Jimmy you can choose two different options. Option 1, you can replace the white bread with the wheat bread or lettuce to make an unwich, which is a sandwich wrapper with lettuce. Option 2, you can ask for no mayonnaise, which can lower the calorie count by 300! That’s a lot of calories for a little lube action on your sandwich.

Obviously there are hundreds of ways to cut calories and eat healthier on Marshall Street but I find these three most useful for myself. Just remember that all of those extra toppings and breads will add calories onto your meal quickly. I am not saying you cannot eat them ever again (unless you want to stay fluffy), but try to think about what you are putting in your mouth and how you can make it just a little bit healthier.

I promise, your body will thank you later when you won’t need someone to sponge bathe you because you are immobile and fat from those late night beach clubs from Jimmy.’s

-Chelsey Perry

Leave a Reply

