Totally Accurate Emmy Award Predictions

Posted: September 20, 2012 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives, WATCH -- TV
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Everyone go clean your room and comb your hair because the 64th Primetime Emmy Awards are on their way here RIGHT NOW!  This year the festivities will be hosted by Jimmy Kimmel and of course I have unrealistically high expectations ever since the perfect hosting of Neil Patrick Harris back in 2009 (soft sigh as I think how he’ll never love me).  But hey, if Jimmy Kimmel can get Sarah Silverman to hang around him for five years then he can probably get me to hang around my television for a few hours.

On to the actual awards!  One disclaimer I have to make before stating my predictions:  the HBO show Veep, starring Julia Louis-Dreyfus as the Vice President of the United States, nominated for Outstanding Comedy Series and Actress in a Comedy Series- I’ve never seen it.  Frankly I don’t know anything about it really except that it exists.  I feel a little awkward predicting it for anything because of that.  Therefore I will not, so just remember that it’s a thing and is probably not bad.

Outstanding Comedy Series:  For me the two biggest contenders here are Modern Family and Girls.  I know, we all love 30 Rock but as much as it distresses me I have to admit the domination of comedy by NBC is coming to an end here.  Obviously Modern Family is a fan favorite, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if it won, but my vote goes to Girls.  It had a great first season and garnered a lot of hype.

Actress in a Comedy Series:  Once again I think it will go to Girls with Lena Dunham winning the award.  Personally my fingers are secretly crossed for Amy Poehler as Leslie Knope, since this past season of Parks and Recreation was by far the best, but whenever I want someone from NBC to win they never do and that’s just something I’ve had to accept.  Sorry, Amy, my support might be your downfall.

Actor in a Comedy Series:  Everyone nominated here is a past nominee so there’s really no clear-cut winner.  Jim Parsons of Big Bang Theory has won the past two years; obviously Alec Baldwin of 30 Rock has his fair share of wins as well.  I’m going to say either the award goes to one of them, or Louie C.K with a win for Louie finally.  Don Cheadle is nominated too but for a lackluster House of Lies so that’s a no. Obviously Two and a Half Men is just circling the drain at this point so I was shocked someone watched enough episodes to even nominate Jon Cryer, despite how great Ashton’s beard looks.  This is Larry David’s fifth nomination for Curb your Enthusiasm and at a certain point you just have to realize the ship has sailed.

Outstanding Drama Series:  Both Breaking Bad and Mad Men had a couple of their strongest seasons yet; one of them will probably pick up the award.  I’m rooting for Game of Thrones but that’s just a personal elf-lover thing.

Lead Actress in a Drama Series:  Claire Danes is really favored here for Homeland and I think that makes sense.  But newbie Michelle Dockery in Downton Abbey is a contender as well.  Per usual, Julianna Margulies is up for The Good Wife, Glenn Close for Damages, and Elizabeth Moss for Mad Men, so the pot of nominees is overall really strong.  That’s all I really have to say about that since all these nominees are good at exasperated sighs and tensing their mouths (an imperative part of drama).

Lead Actor in a Drama Series:  Similar to the Outstanding Drama Series, Breaking Bad and Mad Men are really killing it this year so it would be no surprise to anyone if either Bryan Cranston or Jon Hamm walks away with it.

So that’s it.  Tune into the Academy Awards September 23rd on ABC and marvel at how spot on my predictions are, or laugh at how out of touch I am when The Big Bang Theory wins it all.

-Taylor Kowalski

Leave a Reply

