An Open Letter to True Blood

Posted: September 18, 2012 by jerkmagblog in WATCH -- TV
Tags: , ,

True Blood,

What can I say? We’ve had our ups and downs over the past five seasons, but I have to admit, I’m pretty sure I am more devoted to you than I am to some of my friends. Sure, we’ve had a few breaks here and there, but our relationship couldn’t be more different from that new Taylor Swift song; we will always get back together (as long as HBO keeps ordering seasons). Yeah, I complain about Sookie and the decisions she makes, but I don’t believe I’ve ever truly thought about turning my back on you.

I know I’ve never told you this, but these past five summers have been some of the happiest I’ve ever known. No matter how poorly my week may have gone, I knew that I could count on you to be there every Sunday night, waiting to continue telling me some odd story. You were a constant for me; something incredibly ridiculous but so comforting that logic didn’t matter. All of those social gatherings, the invites to the movies with my friends, they didn’t matter. If you were around, real people could be ignored.

Unfortunately for us, it’s that time of year again, and we’re going to have to part for the next ten months. You’re probably the best summer fling in history, but I’ve realized that our relationship, while amazing, has made me a hermit. I’ve enjoyed my months of hibernation with you, but now I must become a real person again. I have to say goodbye to you and hello to those people in my life who have stuck by me despite the terms of our relationship.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to truly thank you for all of the time we’ve spent together, but I can say that I hope it doesn’t end. At least not until I become an actual adult.

I’ll miss you old friend,
Tenaysia Fox

P.S. What happens this fall will not affect our relationship. School year relationships mean more than summer relationships; don’t hold it against me if I happen to spend my Sunday nights with a new series.

Leave a Reply

