Stupid High, Or Just Plain Stupid?

Posted: September 13, 2012 by jerkmagblog in VICES -- sex, drugs & alcohol
Tags: , , , , ,

“I just get like stupid high. Like, it’s ridiculous.” My roommate just admitted this laughingly. We are sitting in our dorm talking with our guy friend about our stints with Mary Jane. Our friend, let’s call him ‘Jack’, reached for the pink swirly bowl we keep on the end table and asked “you guys burn?” After we confessed that we were self proclaimed “stoner sisters”, he chuckled but did not reciprocate in sharing the hobby. When asked why he quit lighting up, Jack simply stated that he “had a bad trip.”

You’re probably laughing to yourself now saying something like “who is this douche bag that thinks he was ‘tripping’ off weed? That’s the kind of response I typically have to anyone who compares this recreational fucking plant of a drug to something similar to LSD. Anyway, I am writing this because this Jack character is not the first to have a frightening experience with this drug. One of my roommates is opposed to marijuana because she too has had an extremely scary high. So much so, that she is completely turned off to smoking completely. While I cannot imagine what a “bad trip” off weed is like, similar to how I cannot see how people can have a “bad drunk” off wine, I do sympathize for those unable to experience all that the ganja has to offer.

Obviously because I think I am weed’s personal public advocate, whenever I hear such stories I automatically utter, “laced”. I mean let’s be real,  if you “can’t feel your face” or one half of your body is hot and the other cold, or whatever bullshit, that’s the result of some mescaline or something. Though everyone’s high is different, and funny sensations as well as mild paranoia while on the drug are normal, physically painful or mentally debilitating symptoms are probably not the result of that reg you bought off your cousins friend in that one fraternity house.

I am not saying that you should smoke if you don’t like it; just take away from this article that weed is not a drug that you should be afraid of or tentative to try.  For the same reason college students need coffee, we need the opposite effect just as much. Glad I got this out in time for the “One World Concert”.

-Deanna Viel

Leave a Reply

