Bringing Country to the Dome: Zac Brown Band

Posted: July 30, 2012 by jerkmagblog in BLARE -- music
Tags: , , ,

It’s official: Syracuse University is getting a little break from the dub step and rap that’s been taking the spot light for the past couple University hosted dome events.  Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate these genres, but I also think some good ol’ chicken fryin’ Zac Brown Band will be refreshing.

Thinking the band would just ‘be cool‘ is a bit of an understatement. When I heard they were coming, I admit I screamed and literally danced in place.

Zac Brown is one of the first bands to perform at the Carrier Dome that is not staged by Syracuse University student organizations or part of a campus event since Billy Joel played there in 2006, according to the Post Standard. The two-time Grammy Award winning and multi-platinum band may not be as famous as Joel (yet), but they seem to be headed in the right direction. My parents and a friend around my age both said after seeing the band perform that it was one of the best concerts they have ever been to, so I have a feeling they will not disappoint.

I fell in love with Zac Brown Band’s upbeat country jamming while on vacation in the Outer Banks last summer. Now every time I hear one of their songs, I instantly flash back to lying on the beach on a hot day with the only thing on my mind being when I should cool off in the ocean. How can I not remember these relaxing moments with song lyrics like, “Got my toes in the water, ass in the sand,” and, “My only worry in the world is if the tide is gonna reach my chair.”?

These lyrics will echo throughout the Carrier Dome (hopefully, but they may instead play more songs from newest album: here is the link. November sixteenth. Tickets can be bought for $29.50, $49.50, or $59.50, starting July 28th at 10am through LiveNation.com.

~Shannon Hazlitt

Comments
  1. […] Bringing Country to the Dome: Zac Brown Band […]

Leave a Reply

