Lazy Girl Fitness

Posted: July 7, 2012 by jerkmag in CRISP -- health, VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , ,

I found this blog on Pinterest when searching for workouts and such. With a tag line like Lazy Girl Fitness who doesn’t want to click on that to see what it’s all about?

Violet Sage is a blog with several goals and accomplishments. She’s kind of inspiring. Also what I’ve noticed is that she has been married for almost 20 years and you can’t feel her age through her blog. Incredible. I look at a lot of blogs daily and I can approximate the users age just by the material posted.

Lazy Girl Fitness is a few recent posts that you can do around your house with whomever and wherever. While brushing your teeth, waiting for the microwave to stop, folding laundry, and reading a book. My favorite one is the laundry-folding bit.

Dead lift laundry: Squat down, lift your laundry with you and then above your shoulders for a little extra. Do this 15 times each time you have a new load (dirty or clean).

Wall sits while folding: What better way to fold but with a wall sit! Stand with your feet shoulder width apart and then proceed to sit against the wall (keeping your back flat) and fold. If it gets too easy, try going on your toes, shoot for folding 5 pieces of laundry at a time.

Now I think this is a great idea but is this realistic? I feel like if I was folding my laundry, sitting on the wall (not possible) would probably make my laundry even more of a mess than it was when it came out of the dryer. As a neat freak and someone who does laundry once a month, this would be the longest wall sit challenge of my life. Of anyone’s life for that matter. The dead lift stuff is a little more tangible since laundry gets pretty heavy at times.

I’ll definitely be trying these and other workouts from the site, though.

-Brooke Leone

Comments
  1. This is great! Very funny! I can picture you sitting up against the wall trying to fold the laundry. haha

  2. blleone says:

    Right?!?! It’s very unrealistic but hilarious. Everyone should try it though.

Leave a Reply

