I’ma Bake You a Cake

Posted: July 7, 2012 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , ,

It seems like somebody’s birthday is every other day this time of year. If I were rich (and not paying Syracuse tuition) I would love to go out and buy everybody a special gift. My wallet though, doesn’t think this is such a great idea. It is also embarrassing to pay for everything with tip money. I once counted out over $30 in one dollar bills and not surprisingly got some pretty nasty glares from the people in line behind me.

Instead of just buying a Wal-Mart card with a corny joke about how I am too cheap to buy a gift, I’ve decided to aim for people’s sweet tooth and not spend a dime. I do put some thought into it, though.

Exhibit A: My sister the Nutella nut.

She literally keeps a jar of it in her room and eats it with a spoon.  I knew we had some of it around the house, so for her birthday I decided to Google some Nutella dessert recipes.  The Bundt cake I decided to make  turned out to be a winner. The recipe is here if you have a friend or relative who is also in love with the gooey, hazelnut sensation with a birthday coming up. It’s also a great, easy dessert just for the hell of it because Nutella is delicious.

I actually used almost the entire container in the recipe, so I decided to melt some chocolate chips and mix it with about ½ cup peanut butter to frost the cake. If you like peanut butter, chocolate, and hazelnut, say hello to Heaven when you try this variation.

Exhibit B: My mom the health nut.

Coming up with her birthday treat was tricky because I know she loves cheesecake, but would probably just stare longingly if I actually went through all of the trouble to make it. So I had to get a bit creative. I thought about her favorite healthy snack. Pistachios. Lo and behold she had bought some instant pistachio pudding. Bingo. So I didn’t seem too lazy, I decided to make a graham cracker crust to put it in.

I just followed the directions on the back of the pistachio pudding recipe (I recommend using two packages) – the only difference was that I used Vanilla Almond milk instead of whole milk to please my health conscious mom. I actually think this gave it a much sweeter, more delectable flavor.  It was so good that I purposefully made more than enough filling and planned on saving it for myself, I ended up eating the entire bowl before it even entered the fridge. You can top the whole thing with Cool Whip if you desire and you aren’t as lazy as me. Here is an actual recipe as well if you like to be a bit more precise.

These deserts will make you and your wallet a little bit fatter, but it’s nothing a trip to the gym can’t cure. People may also appreciate the time you took to make them desert. Maybe even more so than if you just bought them something with that coupon you’ve been trying to get rid of.

-Shannon Hazlitt

Leave a Reply

