Finding Fresh Food in Syracuse

Posted: July 5, 2012 by jerkmag in CRISP -- health
Tags: , , , ,

As I finally unpacked my last bag in my off-campus house, my next task was heading to Wegmans to load up on groceries. As my mom and I (yes I still grocery shop with my mom, come at me) start browsing the produce section we begin to notice the outrageous prices. To buy a single cucumber you are paying almost $2, $3.99 for a small carton of strawberries and $5.99 per pound of cherries!

I cannot speak for the rest of you, but I am pretty sure that my parents don’t have a money tree in our back yard to finance my grocery bills, but that sure would be awesome if they did. So, as a Syracuse local I remembered that the farmers market takes place not too far from Carousel Mall and maybe their fresh produce will be more reasonably priced.

My assumptions were correct. I was able to purchase an assortment of fresh and locally grown fruits and vegetables at half the price I was paying the day before at the Weg. If you, like myself, would rather support local farmers and help keep your wallet on the hefty side for other summer activities, head down to the farmer markets and stock up.

Within Syracuse there are two locations for the farmers market. The most common is the CNY Regional Market  located one block from Carousel Mall. Their hours are:

Thursday: 7:00AM – 2:00PM (May-November)
Saturday: 7:00AM – 2:00PM (Year Round)
Sunday: 7:00AM – 2:00PM (Year Round)

The second location is the Downtown Farmers Market, located in Clinton Square. The hours for this location are:

Tuesday: 7:00AM – 4:00PM (June-October 9th)

Don’t have a car? Don’t fret. Syracuse University’s Centro Bus system provides rides to both the Regional Market and to downtown Syracuse. To find the bus routes and times check out their website.

Bon Appetite!

-Chelsey Perry

Leave a Reply

