You sure that’s the right shoe?

Posted: May 4, 2012 by jerkmag in CRISP -- health
Tags: , , , ,

I love shoes. Let’s just put that on the table right away. I’ll probably buy any type of shoe or any color shoe depending on what mood I’m in and how much peer pressure is placed upon me.

My favorite shoes are my flip-flops because, well, I don’t really like wearing shoes so these are the least coverage possible. However, we all have to wear shoes if we want to go to any public place, unless you’re one of those students who walk around campus barefoot. I don’t really know how that works but hey congrats for having the biggest calluses ever. Gross…

So yes, shoes are a must. A lot of students on Syracuse University’s campus go to the gym frequently (way to go). But are you wearing the proper shoes for your workouts? I have no idea to be honest. I love my running shoes since they are the only ones that I’ve found that DON’T give me blisters, but I didn’t know that there were certain shoes for the gym, outside, and for the specific activity you’re doing. I mean yeah, I know that there are climbing shoes, running shoes, cross training shoes, special biking shoes, hiking shoes, etc. etc. etc… but lets be real, who knows what specific running shoe goes to the gym with you and what one stays outside? No one.

Well, Women’s Health Magazine has created an interactive piece that will help you differentiate between your vibrant pretty neon Nikes and those less colorful Asics hiding under your bed.

Just to be more specific, the site gives you ideas on shoe shopping tips, what shoes are for the gym, group classes, and for running. Check the site out, it has some great stuff on it and some stuff you probably never would have thought about.

-Brooke Leone

Leave a Reply

