Song of the Week – “Simple Song” by The Shins

Posted: March 11, 2012 by jerkmag in BLARE -- music, SONG OF THE WEEK, VAULT -- archives

Since I dove into The Shins last year and really gave them a listen, I’ve loved them. You’ve probably heard: New Slang, Caring Is Creepy, or Australia (to name a few) and YES these are all extremely popular songs, but you have to love them. I am one to push away a song or band when they become the obnoxiously overplayed you hear when someone brings up the band or when you turn on the radio, yet with The Shins, I can’t push our relationship away.

Simple Song

I’m obsessed with this song. I think I listened to it… twenty times on Sunday… But hey, no judgment! It got me through my American Judaism midterm paper (shout out to Professor Braiterman!!) and that’s all that matters.

According to www.theshins.com, “On December 14th, they announced on their website that their upcoming album would be titled Port of Morrow and would be released March 2012. They revealed the cover art for the album as well, designed by Jacob Escobedo. They also released their first track from the new album ‘Simple Song’ on January 9th.” I’m waiting anxiously for this album to come out, but since it’s March 2012 I guess I won’t have to wait much longer.

If you love The Shins like myself, then give this song another listen. If you’re a virgin when it comes to the band, well then what are you waiting for? As The Shins say:

I know that things can really get rough,
When you go it alone.
Don’t go thinking you gotta be tough

So don’t go in it alone, all of us Shin lovers will be here waking for you with open arms.

-Brooke Leone

Leave a Reply

