Put Your Yolo Where Your Mouth Is

Posted: March 9, 2012 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives

“Now she want a photo
You already know though
You only live once, that’s the motto, ni–a Yolo
We bout it every day, every day, every day” —

This was the soundtrack to my Saturday night and, most likely, this sounds a lot like something you can’t go a day without hearing lately. YOLO – the newest catch phrase for the 2010’s – will be a part of our legacy much like the “As if?!” of the nineties and “totally” of the eighties. But much like many other aspects of our generation, this one has me feeling totally concerned for us…

Black light, booze filled shoes, short skirt. A frat house. He walks up to me, highlighter in hand, and approaches my friends white shirt. She backs away, as if?!, but I step forward ready and willing to party. He writes #YOLO on my right bicep. And even wasted I thought…God, I hope not

And as I wash off the green ink in the shower the next day I wonder about why I reacted so strongly to my run in with YOLO the night before. I love YOLO.. It’s fun and free and what harm is there in taking advantage of the only life you’re going to live… but then it hit me…

If we are a generation that is going to believe in the power of #YOLO, then what exactly are we doing with it? I look around and see a lot of YOLO gone wrong. This term has become the newest excuse to ditch all your homework and get shit faced…and don’t get me wrong, I see the value in a good night out in order to really make the most of my YOLO life journey. But until I see someone using YOLO as a reason to help out at a homeless shelter or write that novel they’ve been putting off (guilty) or to remember to tell someone important that they love them… well, then we’re all wasting the most valuable catch phrase of any generation so far. So put your YOLO where your mouth is and make the most of it…because you really do only live once.  Maybe I should go get started on that novel now…

-Victoria White

Leave a Reply

