Good Luck, Ruthie!

Posted: February 19, 2012 by jerkmag in CRISP -- health, VAULT -- archives

One of my best friends is gearing up to compete in the Disney Princess Half Marathon in Walt Disney World on February 26 (Forget Lynda Carter – she’s the original wonder woman). And instead of letting my jealousy consume me for the next week or so, I thought I would put my energy to good use and blog about it.

The Disney Princess Half Marathon combines two of my favorite things in the entire world: Disney Princesses and Exercise. So that got me thinking… What other themed running competitions are out there? I’ve compiled a (short) list of legitimate, themed 5ks, half marathons and full marathons, for those of you who need a little more entertainment while running those long runs.

The Santa Hustle Smokes Half Marathon & 5K: Held at the Wilderness at the Smokies Hotel & Waterpark Resort in Sevierville, Tennessee, this run claims to be a winter-themed Half-Marathon and 5K. However, with each participant receiving a free Santa hat, beard, and customized shirt to wear while running, I think we can conclude that this race isn’t exactly nondenominational. Still, if you are one of those people who get giddy at just the thought of a Christmas tree, this is the race for you.

The 2012 Space Coast Marathon & Half-Marathon: This run not only characterizes itself as the only space-themed marathon & half-marathon on the planet, but also as Florida’s oldest marathon. Taking place in Cocoa River Front Park in Cocoa, Florida on Sunday, November 25, 2012, participants can run a course in the shadow of the Kennedy Space Center. But if you are interested in this run, just make sure to remember that you’ll be in Florida, and that a spacesuit is not an acceptable running outfit.. Unless you want to suffer from heat exhaustion on the course; then, by all means, spacesuit-up!

Run For Your Lives – A Zombie-Infested 5k Obstacle Course Race: I have to admit that while I adore my Disney royalty, there are very few things I like more than a good zombie movie. When I came across a zombie-themed 5K, I got more excited than I would like to admit. Even better: while the aforementioned runs were only held in specific cities, the zombie run is held in multiple cities around the U.S. The next race is being held in Atlanta on March 3rd. Aside from the entertainment aspect, this race is also a good preparation technique for the eventual zombie apocalypse. So, sign up to test your skills against the undead – just make sure not to get bitten.

What about you guys? Have any of you ever participated in a themed-run? I’m sure there have to be more than four interestingly themed runs out there. Let me know! (And while you’re at it, wish my friend luck, too!)

—Amber Brenza

Comments
  1. Alyssa says:

    The Underwear Affair is a run that takes place throughout Canada. It’s goal is to “Bring Awareness to Down There-ness: Fight Cancers Below the Waist.” Participants get very creative–let’s just say there are a lot of corsets, speedos, and bras. You can check it out here: http://www.uncoverthecure.org/index.html.

  2. Alyssa says:

    Oh, and great article! Very informative and fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

