Are We Really That Old?

Posted: November 25, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As the semester draws to a close you might hear some seniors saying “We’re too old” or “Dang, I feel so old.” But obviously, we’re not. We’re only in our early 20s, which are supposed to be the best years of our life. Yet, why have I been feeling so old lately? It could be just an excuse–an excuse I can use to get out of the things I don’t want to do simply because I’m a senior. For example, when someone asks let’s go frat hopping or play beer pong, all I say is “Sorry, I’m too old/tired to do that,” and it’s like a free-pass. But, what I really mean is I would rather go to the bars and just chill with the other older 21+ seniors.

If you think about it, the word “senior,” automatically makes you feel old. When we were seniors in high school, we probably felt “too old” being in the same hallways as the freshmen. Now we’re in college, and we definitely can feel that same gap with the freshmen. It’s funny, you spend so long waiting to reach senior year, then when you actually do become seniors–better known as the elderly on campus–we absolutely feel “too old” to do anything.

But where did all the senior spirit go? I’m sure we’re not all six feet under just yet, but I feel like I haven’t seen or felt the presence of my fellow seniors around recently. Sure, we all have our ups and downs during the semester, which can force us to go into hiding. But, let’s not forget that being a senior in college is a once in a lifetime experience. We are NOT too old; let’s make it worthwhile!

-Ellie Sul

Leave a Reply

