Are Alumni Panels a Repeat of Freshman Orientation?

Posted: November 15, 2011 by jerkmag in ZONE -- syracuse
Tags: , , , , ,

Just this past Friday I attended an alumni panel for my major. While I was encouraged that my major was making an effort to allow me to meet people that have gone through the same academic process that I am going through now, I was left slightly disappointed.

The alumni panel consisted of three participants, one who is currently a grad student in Newhouse, a young man now working in the ITS Department here at Syracuse University and an author who graduated from Syracuse in 1985 that has published books on eating disorders and has appeared on CNN and NBC’s “Today Show.” I felt that only the alumnus that graduated from SU 20 plus years ago could really offer me information on what it’s  like to work outside of Syracuse. I often speak to upperclassmen about life here at SU and pick their brains on a variety of subjects, but I do not seek their advice on careers unless they have substantial experience outside of the university.

This alumni panel reminded me a lot of freshman orientation. While freshman orientation prepares us for life at SU, such as trudging through the snow, not walking into Thornden Park past sunset and not walking up the steps to get into Carnegie, I do not wish to obtain that information at a career panel of alumni. At this point in my education when graduation is not all that far away, I want advice on how to network, obtain internships and what classes within my major will be beneficial to my career. I did gain some of that information from that event but from only one person out of the three. My advice to Orange Central: Stop
collaborating with the orientation committee.

-Brysan Brown

Leave a Reply

