Drawing The Lip Liner

Posted: November 11, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , , ,

I like nice things. Most people generally do. A line needs to be drawn somewhere though. That line, for me, includes spending more on lipstick than I do on my clothes. When lipstick, designer or not, begins to cost upwards of $30, there’s a problem. Hell, I’m pretty sure I whined about paying the $6.49 for my CoverGirl Natureluxe Gloss Balm at Target the last time I ran out.

That’s beside the point though. This isn’t a hate mail post about oh-woe-is-me that designers charge such high prices for their products. I have certain items I’m willing to shell out cash for, but I have to say, lipstick is not one of them. Maybe it’s just me, but CoverGirl and Maybelline seem to do the job just fine at a fraction of the price. Then again, maybe girls want to pay for the “experience” of going into stores like Sephora or ordering their designer cosmetics online. If they’ve got the money, you can’t really hate them for that. I guess, it’s just another instance of to each their own.

Where do you draw the line?

-Erin Elzo

Leave a Reply

