Cup Stacking and Harmonies? I Don’t Hate It.

Posted: November 5, 2011 by jerkmag in BLARE -- music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
I’m assuming you have all heard of camp, especially if you go to Syracuse.  Never would I have thought, though, to put my cup-stacking skills learned at summer camp to musical use.  Apparently, Erato did though.

Check out this video created by three singers of the Swedish girl group  Ebba Lovisa Anderson, Amanda Wikström and Petra Brohäll.  Robyn originally performs the song, “Call Your Girlfriend.” This unique cover is unlike any take on any other song I have other seen.  The singers use a childhood cup-stacking game to add percussion to their vocals and perfect harmonies.  This cover is also a very stripped-down version of the original, which includes many electronic tendencies and would be considered a dance song in my mind.  But, I love the cover nonetheless.

-Hayley Isaacson

Leave a Reply

