World’s Worst Halloween Costume: Anna Rexia

Posted: November 2, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

As the great Cady Heron once said, “In Girl World, Halloween is the one night a year when a girl can dress up like a total slut and no other girls can say anything about it.” Well, DreamGirl costume manufacturers decided to take that statement, put it in a blender with an eating disorder and give it a name. Introducing, AnnaRexia: the Halloween costume designed to poke fun at an actual disease that takes the lives of women and men every year.
While one might argue “Well, so does the Grim Reaper,” let me start off by saying, you’re actually an idiot and should probably stop snorting whatever it is you snort on the weekends. This costume was shown to me a week ago, and I couldn’t believe that anyone would even have the balls to create this, let alone wear it. There is nothing sexy about a 12-year-old girl in a hospital bed with a feeding tube down her throat.

I don’t care if you dress it up with a slutty little skeleton dress and boob job. What’s next,“Breast Cancer Barbie?” I’m actually appalled by this and not much really offends me. I enjoy foul humor, sex jokes and a few knocks at my ego here and there, but this goes beyond anything I would ever consider to be in good humor.

One of my very good friends has suffered from anorexia nervosa, so sure, I’m biased. But, until you see the pain these girls, women, boys and men go through, it’s nothing to joke about or make into a Halloween costume. I hope none of you were actually stupid enough to even consider wearing something like this. It’s bad enough I have to see half of you walking back from frat houses in your Playboy outfits from the night before every single year; don’t take it 11 steps further.

In all seriousness–if you or someone you know is suffering from an eating disorder, and don’t know where to find help here in Syracuse, please call 315-671-2202. The staff of Centre Syracuse is here to help.

-Julia Fuino

Comments
  1. nadjma says:

    i saw this, couldn’t believe it…

  2. […] question humanity sometimes, I really do. Two men in Bowie, Maryland are wanted for stealing money from the Girl […]

Leave a Reply

