DIY Fashionistas and the People Who Wish They Were

Posted: October 31, 2011 by jerkmag in TRIM -- style
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

In a sea of uniform H&M and Forever 21 outfits, it’s not always easy to stand out. That’s probably why DIY fashion is increasing in popularity. DIYers are replicating the looks of big name designers like Dolce & Gabbana.

I’d like to say I’m as talented as half the people that post on DIY blogs, but I know I wouldn’t be fooling anyone. I’ve always been (somewhat) secretly jealous of people creative enough to do that kind of DIY that looks completely professional and store-bought.

Maybe that’s why the handmade products on Etsy sell well and get such rave reviews from the females in my life. The words used in reference to these products are generally something along the lines of “a little pricey, but totally worth it.”

DIY style has been hailed as a movement by many, including a close friend who can knit an awesome beanie, poof and all. She tried to explain to me how she made the poof ball at the top of the beanie the other day. I could just feel my head getting heavy as my mind tried to wrap itself around this concept that made so much sense to her.

“It’s real simple,” she said. Yeah, okay, I’m just going to sit in the corner, twiddling my thumbs, now.

-Erin Elzo

Comments
  1. […] Erica Domesek’s incredibly fabulous blog, P.S. – I Made This… She is a recognized DIY design and style expert, who makes many unique and fashion-related objects, such as necklaces, handbags […]

Leave a Reply

