TWA: Travel Whores (Not-So) Anonymous

Posted: October 8, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Travel whore. It may not seem like it, but it’s a term of endearment. At least, it is amongst many of my friends. For us, it means that you’re just that: a whore for traveling. We’re obsessed. We live, eat and breathe it. We’d definitely bang it if we could–most of us have probably tried.

In my lifetime, I have lived in four countries and traveled to about 14. To me, that’s not nearly enough, but I’ve come to realize how large a number that is for many others. I grew up in a multicultural household so I thought traveling was the norm. Traveling to different states within the U.S. and several foreign countries seemed natural.

Once I realized how lucky I was to have those opportunities, I couldn’t get enough of it. The culture, the people, the food…oh, the food. Who could say no to the food? Unfortunately, plenty. Sad, disturbing and true.

That’s why, when I was using my StumbleUpon about a week ago and found the above video titled MOVE, I couldn’t resist watching it on repeat and showing it to everyone. Even better, there are THREE of them—MOVE, LEARN, and EAT. I mean, who could resist that?! Well, I haven’t encountered anyone yet. Hopefully, it stays that way.

Seriously, if nothing about any of those three videos makes you want to travel, I don’t think we can be friends. End of discussion.

-Erin Elzo

Leave a Reply

