As Americans, when something goes wrong in the world, everyone tends to only think about themselves and how they are affected.  Take Adele canceling her US tour on Tuesday for the second time this year.  Of course, Adele is personally doing this to ruin our lives.  Duh.

Obviously, that is not the case.  But it does seem a bit concerning that Adele has had to face show cancellations–something artists go to as their very last resort–more than once.  According to Billboard, “Adele’s doctors diagnosed her with a vocal cord hemorrhage, as she experienced earlier this year, and they have advised her that she will need an extended period of rest in order to fully recuperate.”

Adele isn’t the only artist struggling to stay in good vocal health. John Mayer recently had to cancel several concert dates due to his recent diagnosis of Granuloma, a non-cancerous lesion due to constant strain to the throat.  Kelly Clarkson also canceled a fair share of her tour back in 2002 due to inflamed nodes in the back of her throat.  Nothing is worse than a cancelation without notice though.  At least Adele’s fans are getting refunds within advanced time.  Katy Perry this past summer had to cancel and reschedule her Chicago show due to food poisoning the night before.

What fans don’t always realize is show cancelations are an artist’s worst nightmare.  So give them some sympathy and keep the faith that they will make it up to you.  We know they’re sorry.

Adele just released her music video for “Someone Like You” this past week.  Enjoy it below.

-Hayley Isaacson

Comments
  1. […] to write home about, the samples aren’t nearly as bad. The most creative is a sample of Adele‘s 2008 hit, “Chasing Pavements.” The juxtaposition of the pop vocalist and the Cleveland […]

  2. […] For most of you it probably seems that I talk way too excessively about Spotify, but this is a huge breakthrough in the music industry.  For once, complete, organized, easy streaming of music is free.  It is also extremely fast to add new music as well.  Albums are added to Spotify if not the day of, the day after they are released.  For a premium subscriber like me, I then get access to these songs with no ads, commercials, and on my mobile phone.  I take Spotify to the gym with me, on the walk to classes, everywhere.  I haven’t bought more than three songs on iTunes since the program came to the US in July.  One of those three songs was “Someone Like You” by Adele. […]

  3. […] For most of you it probably seems that I talk way too excessively about Spotify, but this is a huge breakthrough in the music industry.  For once, complete, organized, easy streaming of music is free.  It is also extremely fast to add new music as well.  Albums are added to Spotify if not the day of, the day after they are released.  For a premium subscriber like me, I then get access to these songs with no ads, commercials, and on my mobile phone.  I take Spotify to the gym with me, on the walk to classes, everywhere.  I haven’t bought more than three songs on iTunes since the program came to the US in July.  One of those three songs was “Someone Like You” by Adele. […]

  4. […] For a premium subscriber like me, I get access to these songs with no ads, commercials and on my mobile phone.  I take Spotify to the gym with me, on the walk to classes, everywhere.  I haven’t bought more than three songs on iTunes since the program came to the U.S. in July.  One of those three songs was “Someone Like You” by Adele. […]

Leave a Reply

