Birds of a Stupid Looking Feather

Posted: September 20, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , , , ,

The days of scrunchies, headbands and flowers being the hottest hair accessory are a thing of the past. The latest hot thing to be donned in those luscious locks of yours are….feathers! Wait, what? Yeah.

This trend is reminiscent of the hair wraps that were all the rage when we were in middle school, except a whole lot dumber. Thanks to celebrities like Ke$ha and Hilary Duff, feathers have flown to the top of the trend fad list this summer. You can sport a hippie-bohemian look with natural looking feathers, or take a risk with neon-colored ones. Talk about edgy. 

As if this trend wasn’t bizarre enough already, the feathers are plucked from actual roosters! Um, ew. Call me crazy, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want to put a living animal’s feathers in my hair just to make a “fashion statement.” (Emphasis on the quotation marks.)

People love when something unique surfaces so they can separate themselves from the “normal” ones, but there are some trends that you just have to say, “Nu-uh, that is not cute in any way, shape or form”. And maybe this is simply akin to one of those abstract Picasso paintings that I just can’t seem to wrap my head around, but I’m pretty sure it’s just really stupid.

I’m not positive where my hatred for this trend started; all I know is when I see someone walking around with these feathers in their hair, I automatically think less of them for a good five to 10 minutes. So, if you’re one of the poor lost souls who are on the brink of diving into this bizarre trend, please, I beg of you, don’t. If not for yourself, then for me (and the roosters).

-Taylor Bryant

Leave a Reply

