Slow and Steady

Posted: July 20, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , ,
I don’t know about your grandparents, but sometimes when my grandmother drives, she doesn’t look at the road. She becomes too focused on chatting about this and that, her eyes begin to wander and then, suddenly, her head is turned, looking at me in the backseat. On the other side of my family, I’m pretty sure my grandfather’s breaks have not been checked in 20 years. I remember driving his car one time and having to slam on the breaks; the car just continued to glide, eventually coming to a stop.

Going off these experiences, I’m surprised that the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia released a study finding that kids are safer driving with their grandparents than anyone else. It seems crazy to me that the demographic with the most accidents should be the ones you trust your children with. Yet, while there are many crashes involving older drivers, the study proved that fewer injuries actually occur in these accidents.  Makes sense, if most grandparents drive at the speed mine do. A tortoise could beat my grandfather in a race.

-Nicole Fisher
Leave a Reply

