I Have Feyth in Tina

Posted: May 7, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , ,

Step 1: Read BossypantsStep 2: Laugh ass off.

Story:  I’ve mentioned before that I don’t really do the whole nonfiction thing.  My life is nonfiction enough without adding other people’s baggage into it.  However, when I saw that Tina Fey had a new book coming out, Bossypants, I knew I’d be bending that particular rule for the third time in my life.  (The first was for David Sedaris, and the second for Stephen Colbert’s I Am America (And So Can You!)).  I love Tina Fey.  She’s a great actress and screenwriter, so I was sure that she would prove to be an equally entertaining author.

I was not disappointed.

Thank God for Wegman’s random bookshelf, where I can buy brand new novels for a ridiculously low price.  (Wegmans, please note the name-drop.  Can you give me back my dog now?)  I snatched Fey’s book up the moment I saw it, and I didn’t put it down until I’d finished it.

Bossypants is an autobiography that reads like fiction.  Hilarious fiction that I probably wouldn’t believe if it hadn’t come from Tina Fey.  I knew I was in for a good read the moment I read the back, which, remember, I told you to always do.  This back cover had gems that kept me in fits of laughter.  Here is what I mean, “Once in a generation a woman comes along who changes everything.  Tina Fey is not that woman, but she met that woman once and acted weird around her.”  After reading the hilarious endorsements on the back, which I will not repeat since I want to leave at least some of the humor as a surprise, I went to the dedication.  Normally I do not read such things, but in Tina Fey’s case, I bothered to glance over it.  I was glad I did.  The dedication reads, “For Jeanne Fey: Happy Mother’s Day.  I made this out of macaroni for you.”

And that’s just the dedication!  The rest of the book was full of hilarious anecdotes about growing up the daughter of two republicans, working at the YMCA, writing for SNL, and creating 30 Rock.  She also gives loveable, laughable parenting advice.  All of this is mixed up with some seriousness, genuine emotion, and a good dose of satire/cultural criticism.  It’s the perfect read for Fey lovers everywhere, or people looking to test the waters of good, non-fiction literature.  Here’s my bossy moment: Go read this book right now!

-Rebecca Leviton

Leave a Reply

