Sunless Tanning: Safety First

Posted: April 27, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: , , , ,

You’ve heard it a billion times. Don’t go tanning, it will give you skin cancer. So, I’m going to say it again. Don’t go tanning. Maybe I’m being hypocritical since I’ve gone tanning before, but at least I can say it was for a very short time. I went a couple of times before my senior prom and haven’t gone since. Nowadays, tanning has become an addiction for some people–just like people become addicted to drugs or alcohol. It’s sad that people continue to harm their bodies to enhance their physical appearance.

I’m not going to deny that I like the way I look better when I’m tan than when I’m not. I just think that people need to become more aware of alternatives that can get the job done safely. I’ve recently been trying out spray tans and absolutely love them. Although I wish they stayed on longer, I know that at least I’m not causing damage to my skin in the process. Other sunless tanning products like creams, gels, and lotions work the same way as spray tans do by having the active ingredient dihydroxyacetone react with your dead skins cells. The coloring from these products gradually fade as the dead skins cells slough off after a few days. Although it may be annoying to constantly apply creams or get spray tans, it’s better than potentially increasing your risk for skin cancer or looking like an old hag by the time you’re thirty.

–Jeanine Guzman

Leave a Reply

