Tattoo Taboo

Posted: April 26, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives, VICES -- sex, drugs & alcohol
Tags: , , , ,

If I ever came home with a tattoo, I’m sure my parents would disown me. My folks have always strongly disliked the interesting art form that is tattoo design. And although I’ve pondered getting one (not sure what I would even get), I think for now I’ll just stick with a good old airbrush. They’re fun and fulfill the longing that some of us have for a real one. When I’m at the Jersey Shore boardwalk during the sunny summer months, I usually become tempted to get a little seahorse on my ankle or a random Chinese word on my back shoulder. Airbrush is definitely the way to go if you’re iffy about getting a permanent one (like me).

Temporary tattoos actually go back way further than many people think. People in Africa, the Middle East, and India have been using henna tattoos to decorate their hands, feet, and faces in celebration or in mourning for centuries. They were believed to increase beauty while making a personal statement. But, before you get henna, definitely find out what it means first! Each temporary henna tattoo design means something different to the people who traditionally used them. Since I can’t think of a tattoo design that would express who I am, I don’t think I’ll ever “get it just to get it”. Tattoos can definitely be meaningful if they’re representative of who you are or what you believe. My parents won’t be disowning me anytime soon for getting some ink, but I think the “tattoo taboo” mentality they have has got to change.

–Jeanine Guzman

Leave a Reply

