No Day but July 14th

Posted: March 4, 2011 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: ,

So, color me skeptic but RENT is returning to Times Square… this time though it will be off-Broadway at New World Stages (joining it’s buddy who also recently went from on to off, Avenue Q.) Apparently the producers (same as the 1996 original ones) are reconceptualizing the whole thing.
Being the token die-hard RENT fan amongst many groups of friends I have constantly been asked what I think of this upcoming production. My answer is [drum roll please] I don’t know. RENT closing was tough for me along with anyone else who was part of that little sub-culture that spent many-a-weekend on 41st street at the Nederlander Theater between 1996 and 2008. Three years just seems like a little soon to re-open the show. I love that they’re getting fresh faces into the production (I plan on auditioning because well, why not?) and I love that RENT will be available to go see whenever I need it (and let’s be real here, RENT is totally a drug—but a good drug.) . I don’t think I’m alone though in my suspicious that this is another producer-endorsed-money-guzzling-scheme.
Was that a little harsh? Sorry, it’s seems like the past half-decade has been RENT this, RENT that. Maybe it would be more powerful if it re-opened for a younger generation who didn’t have the opportunity to see the show the first time around instead of packing this poor off-Broadway theatre with crazy born-again RENTheads who wear Angel costumes to the show and moo before Maureen even asks them too!

– Amelia Bienstock

Comments
  1. Kelly says:

    LOVE RENT. mixed feelings about this, but i’d still see it in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

