S&M: Scandals & Media or Sadomasochism?

Posted: February 16, 2011 by jerkmag in BLARE -- music, VAULT -- archives, VICES -- sex, drugs & alcohol
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Rihanna’s latest released video, “S&M,” has stirred up a lot of controversy. I do believe the song includes some promiscuous language:

“‘Cause I may be bad, but I’m perfectly good at it
Sex in the air, I don’t care, I love the smell of it
Sticks and stones may break my bones,
But chains and whips excite me.”

Some viewers say the song and video are too risqué and others believe the concept of sadomasochism is played out. Justin Timberlake alluded notions of dominatrix in his 2006, “Sexy Back”:

“Dirty babe
You see the shackles
Baby I’m your slave
I’ll let you whip me if I misbehave
It’s just that no one makes me feel this way?”

Why, then has Rihanna’s video been downplayed and banned in 11 countries, and BBC 1 Radio won’t play the single before 7 PM?

It took a lot of digging and searching, but I found the video. Check the video out, and you decide for yourself if it’s erotic:

Comments
  1. […] is the video for Rihanna‘s first single off her upcoming sixth studio album, “Talk That Talk.” It features […]

Leave a Reply

