Inception 2: Tiddlywinks?

Posted: November 15, 2010 by jerkmag in POP - pop culture, VAULT -- archives

I recently sang my praises of Warner Bros. decision not to release Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in 3D, but then I heard a rumor that truly pissed me off. There’s a report going around that WB is interested in making a sequel to Christopher Nolan’s masterpiece and box office hit Inception.

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s sacrificing creativity for money. And I thought WB and I were on the same page, but if this report is to be believed, then I was clearly wrong. There is absolutely no need to turn Inception into another bullshit film franchise.

If you’ve ever seen a Chris Nolan film that’s non-Batman related (Memento, for instance) then you know that Nolan is all about the power of the story. He strives to keep originality alive in an industry that feeds off of reproducing other works. Even when he retells Batman he manages a fresh interpretation, angering hardcore fans in capes everywhere.

What made Inception special was that it wasn’t a story you’d heard before. An Inception sequel would surely make millions, but that’s not the point. What more is there to tell? We all know the top stopped spinning, right? RIGHT?

~Dee Lockett

Comments
  1. Amelia says:

    I have yet to see inception but I hear you. Apparently they’re making the Hangover 2 with… Bill Clinton…?

    That being said I too am SO glad about Harry Potter not doing the 3D thing. SO over all that.

Leave a Reply

