Broadway Flea Market – Theater News

Posted: September 23, 2010 by jerkmag in VAULT -- archives
Tags: ,

The 24th annual Broadway Flea Market is Sunday, the 26th. Learn more from the following conversation I had with myself:

Thanks. Wanna tell us what that is?

Held in Shubert Alley in Times Square, the Broadway Flea Market brings together the companies and cast members of the currently running (and some no longer running) Broadway shows. It’s a theater explosion: old playbills, original scripts, autographed everything, props and costumes from the shows. There will be celebrity sightings galore, as well as the buzzworthy Grand Auction where bidders fight for some wicked cool Broadway-inspired prizes.

You just said “wicked.” Aren’t you from New York?

Shut up, my roommate is from New Hampshire, she’s rubbing off on me. And obviously I was thinking about the musical.

Right. So where does the money go?

Broadway Cares / Equity Fights Aids, an amazing organization and one of the nation’s leading HIV/AIDS research fundraisers.

I want to go but I’m busy that weekend OR I don’t have a car and don’t want to sit next to some smelly weirdo on the bus. Can I still bid?

Yes! There are 3 different ways to prebid. I hope I answered all of my questions.

~Amelia Bienstock

Leave a Reply

