Badass Superheroes

Posted: March 18, 2009 by kabenn03 in POP - pop culture
Tags: , , , , ,

one of the many badass quotes from Rorschachs journal

one of the many badass quotes from Rorschach's journal

I have always loved superheroes. There is just something about believing in people that can fly and see through walls and have tons of other superhuman powers that can fuel my imagination enough to keep me daydreaming through entire classes.

Today in Spanish I decided that if had one power I would want it to be the ability to control time. Not only would I be able to fast-forward through my classes, but I would always get enough sleep and spring break would be a hell of a lot longer.

The Crew

The Crew

What got me on the subject of superheroes is the movie Watchmen. The movie started off sort of like The Incredibles, where vigilante activities have been outlawed and superheroes are forced to live normal lives and neglect their powers.

But then it turned dark, and in a surprisingly good way.

Personally, I’m not too big on the whole superhero turned bad theme mostly because if there are going to be people around that could snap me in half in the course of a second, I choose to believe they would use their powers for good…if only for my own sanity.

But they didn’t so much turn bad as just snap a little and turn rebellious, and who doesn’t love a rebel. Also, let me just say that Jeffrey Dean Morgan, even when playing a 67 year old, you are still the hottest badass I know. And Rorschach’s amazingly deep, scratchy voice is one that puts Batman’s to shame.

As a person who did not read the comic, I thought the movie required a lot more thinking and attention than I thought it would. In other words, I was expecting a lot more kick butt action scenes and less thinking back to the US history class I took my junior year of high school.

When there was action; however, it became very clear that director of 300 landed himself another job. It was gory and bloody and wonderful, everything a superhero action scene should be.

–Kelsey Bennett

Comments
  1. Lauren says:

    Jeffery Dean Morgan playing any age is amazing. As a reader of the comic, I was amazed at the casting and how much Dan, Rorschach, The Comedian looked like their comic book counter parts. The movie is about 90% true to the book and is probably the best adaptation one could hope for. I do think Kelsey Bennett should read the comic or at least look at the pictures. lol.

    Whoo! First comment!!!

  2. kabenn03 says:

    haha, yea i have heard from a lot of people that i would appreciate it more if i read the comic so maybe i will eventually.

  3. Kaitlin says:

    First and foremost as a disclaimer, I didn’t read the graphic novels. However, I loved the movie because it was such a dark premise that made you think about whether the ends justify the means. I understand being annoyed if you were expecting to get a bunch of mindless explosions and instead had to use your brain, but really there logo is a bloody smiley face. Bit of a contradiction there in the first place. In the end, I was happy for a darker movie of real life people questioning and changing the world compared to a perfect superhuman who can always fly in to the rescue and doesn’t have a care in the world.

  4. […] Ever since she pulled those berries out in the last minutes of the previous year’s “Hunger Games,” Katniss Everdeen has become an icon of defiance and rebellion to the Districts. Who knew being a badass could be so rewarding? […]

Leave a Reply

