Sous-chefs, Duck, and Bacon on a Sunday Night

Posted: October 27, 2009 by jerkmagblog in POP - pop culture
Tags: , , , , , , ,
There it is--the first piece of meat I've ever cooked.

There it is--the first piece of meat I've ever cooked.

There I was on a Sunday night, all by my lonesome, cooking duck for the first time in my life. Actually, I was cooking meat for the first time in my life, unless bacon counts.

It’s a little depressing to eat something delicious alone. Or at least to cook for two hours only to eat something delicious alone is a little depressing. But I’m quite a misanthrope, and even more of a glutton.

After being cooped up in your apartment doing homework all weekend, you just want somebody to eat Chinese Five-Spice Duck with Mushroom Ravioli Sautéed in Bacon and Rapini with. So I guess it’s pretty lucky that one of my high school friends texted me: “Hey Rox what’re you up to?” He was in Syracuse for the night, and wanted to, y’know, maybe meet for coffee and catch up.

Little did he know he’d end up my sous-chef. Mohammad showed up later with his attempt at being adorable and giving me a housewarming gift: about a quarter of a crumpled bag of hot fries. 

I can’t reduce wine for shit. It sat on the stove for twice as long as it should have, and I ended up with a congealed, purple layer of goo in the bottom of my lovely Paula Deen non-stick pan. I guess the bacon was a problem too. I’ve cooked bacon before, I swear. But somehow it went straight from raw to burnt in the skillet. We had to scrap half of it.

The best sous-chef ever.

The best sous-chef ever.

All in all it was pretty good. Chinese Five-Spice Blend is cinnamon, anise, cloves, ginger, and star anise, and it tasted amazing on the duck. My whole apartment smelled like cinnamon and cloves. I think I overcooked it a little, but undercooked poultry is a lot worse. And Mo must have enjoyed it, because he really did offer to do the dishes, insisting that it’s his “favorite part.”

Even though it goes against my misanthropic nature, I like cooking for people. I think making something delicious for somebody else is not such a bad way to spend time with them. I mean, if you absolutely must be around people, that is.

~Roxanne Broda-Blake

Comments
  1. Katie says:

    Mo! Was that before or after you gave birth to baby Jesus?

  2. Ferdinand says:

    I LIKE YOU

Leave a Reply

